Chicago Symphony Winds

From: University Musical Society


Contact Information:

(734) 764-2538
Rackham Auditorium
915 East Washington Street
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Get Directions

Wind players of the Chicago Symphony come together for this special concert that features two of Mozart’s compositions for wind ensemble. In addition to writing large-scale music, Mozart produced lighter music for special occasions, including the two well-known serenades on this program. The Serenade in c minor is a wind octet, scored for pairs of oboes, clarinets, horns, and bassoons; the “Gran Partita” is scored for 12 wind instruments, including the seldom-heard basset horn, plus string bass. Members of the Chicago Symphony join together with other musicians to perform these delightful works.

Plan your Visit to Chicago Symphony Winds