Grand Marais Historical Society

, Grand Marais, MI 49839
Description
The Light Keeper's House was built in 1906 by the Life Saving Service as the Lightkeeper's home.The Pickle Barrel House is one of the most unique structures in the country. It was built in 1926 as a summer cottage for author/illustrator William Donalhey and his wife, Mary. The Old Post Office was originally built about 1905 as a jewelry store. In 1907 it was added onto and put into use as the Post Office. The unique, five-sided structure served as the town's hug of mail and information for almost 70 years, and was placed on the Michigan Register of Historic Sites. All three museums are open seasonally. During July and August, the museums are open daily from 1:00 pm to 4:00 pm; during the months of June and September, they are open on weekends from 1:00pm to 4:00 pm. Private tours can be arranged
Videos
Map
Photos
TripAdvisor® Traveler Reviews
More To Explore

Although the MEDC uses reasonable efforts to maintain the accuracy of the website content, it is not represented to be error free. Read legal information.