Grand Rapids Symphony's Rhythm of the Dance

DeVos Performance Hall
303 Monroe Avenue NW,
Grand Rapids, MI 49503

Falla Suite No. 1 from The Three Cornered Hat
Rodrigo Concierto de Aranjuez
Gabriella Frank Three Latin American Dances
Piazzolla Two Tangos
Ginastera Four Dances from Estancia

Marcelo Lehninger Conductor | Pablo Sainz Villegas Guitar | Members of the Grand Rapids Ballet

Sultry, sensual rhythms of Latino-flavored music from both sides of the Atlantic will take the winter chill away in this program. Brazilian-born Marcelo Lehninger conducts music by two Argentinean composers including Astor Piazzolla, master of the tango. Spanish guitarist Pablo Sainz Villegas, winner of the Andres Segovia Award and Gold Medalist in the first Christopher Parkening International Guitar Competition, joins the orchestra as soloist in Joaquin Rodrigo’s Concierto de Aranjuez. Not only is the Spanish-flavored concerto the most popular work of all time for guitar and orchestra, it includes one of the most hauntingly beautiful English horn solos in the repertoire. Grammy Award-winning composer Gabriela Lena Frank, an American of Peruvian descent, gives a fresh, new spin on music of Latin America.

Individual tickets start at $18 | Students $5

Event Dates
More To Explore

Although the MEDC uses reasonable efforts to maintain the accuracy of the website content, it is not represented to be error free. Read legal information.