Michigan Travel Commission

Michigan Travel Commission

The Travel Commission was established to promote, maintain and develop the orderly growth of the Michigan travel industry.

The enabling act provides that the Michigan Travel Commission shall do all of the following:
(a) Assist the Michigan travel bureau with the development of a comprehensive long-range master plan. 

(b) Annually assess the activities and accomplishments of the Michigan travel bureau, and convey each assessment in writing to the director of the department of commerce.

(c) Work to the maximum extent practicable with those private associations, nonprofit corporations, organizations, or other private entities which promote tourism in this state.
(d) Promulgate rules for the implementation of this act pursuant to Act No. 306 of the Public Acts of 1969, as amended, being sections 24.201 to 24.328 of the Michigan Compiled Laws.

(e) Conduct public hearings to obtain input concerning policy development from a broad cross section of travel interests. 

(f) Withhold expenditure of state funds otherwise authorized under this act if the Michigan travel bureau determines that the proposed expenditure is for an activity that does not conform with the goals of the master plan described in section 2c or does not benefit the travel industry in the state.
All meetings are open to the public. If you would like to address the commission at a meeting, please contact the commission's assistant to have your name appear on the agenda.

Stephen Kircher, Chair
Boyne Resorts - Boyne Falls, MI
1st Term (8/20/13-8/20/17)

2nd Term [8/20/17-8/20/21]
William Parlberg, Vice Chair
Zehnder’s of Frankenmuth - Frankenmuth, MI
1st Term (8/20/13-8/20/17)
2nd Term [8/20/17-8/20/21]
Charles Burns, Commissioner
Novi, MI
1st Term (8/20/15-8/20/18)
Mike Busley, Commissioner
Grand Traverse Pie Company - Traverse City, MI
1st Term (8/10/13-8/20/17)

2nd Term [8/20/15-8/20/19]
Camille Jourden-Mark, Commissioner
Michigan’s Adventure - Muskegon, MI
1st Term (8/20/13-8/20/17)
2nd Term [8/20/17-8/20/21]
Sally Laukitis, Commissioner
Holland Area Convention & Visitors Bureau - Holland, MI
1st Term (2/27/12-8/20/14)
2nd Term [8/20/14-8/20/18]
John Madigan, Commissioner
Pictured Rocks Cruises - Munising, MI
1st Term (8/21/14-8/20/18) 
Jon Nunn, Commissioner
Grand Action - Grand Rapids, MI
1st Term (8/10/11-8/20/15)
2nd Term [8/20/15-8/20/19]
Barry Owens, Commissioner
Treetops Resort - Gaylord, MI
1st Term (6/23/17-8/20/19)

Julie Sprenger, Commissioner
Laurium, MI
1st Term (8/20/12-8/20/16)
2nd Term [8/20/16-8/20/20]
Jerome toney, Commissioner
Grand Hotel - Mackinac Island, MI
1st Term (8/20/12-8/20/16)
2nd Term [8/20/16-8/20/20]
Jennifer Zieger, Commissioner
Hotel Investment Services, Inc. - Troy, MI
1st Term (9/20/17 - 8/20/20)
Michigan Travel Commission Assistant
Amanda Munson
Office Assistant with Travel Michigan
Michigan Economic Development Corporation
300 N. Washington Square, Lansing, MI 48913
Office: 517.335.4590 
Email: [email protected]