Emanuel Ax Plays Brahms

Hill Auditorium
825 N. University Avenue,
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
COPLAND Appalachian Spring
KODÁLY Dances of Galánta
BRAHMS Piano Concerto No. 2, Op. 83 in B-flat major
Ann Arbor Symphony Orchestra
Emanuel Ax, piano

Serene, pastoral, and deceptively simple–no piece has come to define Aaron Copland’s reputation as the “American voice” of classical music more than the great American ballet, Appalachian Spring. We travel to the fields of Galánta with the composer, Zoltán Koldáy to continue our dance-inspired evening in Hill Auditorium. His Dances of Galánta holds a deeply personal meaning discovered by weaving through the Hungarian folk melodies from his childhood spent in Galánta surrounded by stunning orchestral colors. The distinct and fiery rhythms of Hungarian dances return and close the program with a performance of Brahms’ Piano Concerto No. 2, op. 83 in B-flat major featuring celebrate pianist, Emanuel Ax.
Emanuel Ax Plays Brahms - Photo 1
Event Dates
September 13, 2019
8:00 PM to 10:00 PM
More To Explore

Although the MEDC uses reasonable efforts to maintain the accuracy of the website content, it is not represented to be error free. Read legal information.