Grand Rapids Symphony's Coffee Classics Baroque Concert

St. Cecilia Music Center Royce Auditorium
24 Ransom Avenue NE,
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
BAROQUE October 12 Marcelo Lehninger, conductor Ellen Sherman, Oboe • MARCELLO: Concerto for Oboe • VILLA-LOBOS: Bachianas brasileiras No. 9 • BACH: Orchestral Suite No. 3 Johann Sebastian Bach, who flourished in the early 18th century, is revered as the one of the greatest, if not the greatest, composer who ever lived. Nonetheless, Bach was influenced by the music of other composers such as Vivaldi. The German composer was sufficiently impressed by Alessandro Marcello’s Concerto for Oboe that he took it upon himself to arrange it for solo keyboard. For this concert, though, Grand Rapids Symphony’s Ellen Sherman plays the original concerto for oboe, strings and continuo as written by the Venetian composer. Concert starts at 10:00 a.m. Complimentary coffee and donut hour begins at 9:00 a.m.
Event Dates
More To Explore

Although the MEDC uses reasonable efforts to maintain the accuracy of the website content, it is not represented to be error free. Read legal information.